If facing a DUI and DWI in Michigan, then it is crucial that you understand the potential penalties that you could face, as well as the importance of finding a reliable attorney. Understanding Michigan DUI laws and legal limits could also help prevent you from being charged with such violations. If you are charged with DUI violations, then having a good lawyer will make a significant difference in the potential sentencing that you receive. You can learn important DUI information, such as what the charge is, the relevant laws and DUI consequences, from legal counsel. To find legal assistance for such charges, click here. Learn more drunk driving information to avoid the violations or contend them in court in the sections provided below.
What does getting a DUI in Michigan mean?
The state of Michigan takes a DUI charge, or driving under the influence, very seriously, as every year there are thousands of people who are killed or disabled due to an intoxicated or impaired driver. In order to reduce the number of lives lost, strict Michigan DUI laws and consequences have been put into place.
As a Michigan resident, you will be charged with a DUI if you are pulled over in a traffic stop and one of the following is true:
- You are intoxicated or otherwise impaired by alcohol, prescription medication or illegal drugs.
- You have a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or more, with greater penalties given if you have a BAC of 0.17 or more.
- There is any amount of cocaine or any other schedule one controlled substance in your body.
Schedule one substances include various opiates, such as propiram, trimeperidine and morpheridine, among others. In addition to these DUI laws, if you are caught driving under the influence and you are under the age of 21, the presence of alcohol as a BAC of 0.02 or higher, unless consumed at a generally recognized religious ceremony, could result in a DUI charge. These charges, especially if you are under the age of 21, can result in severe consequences and that is why it is invaluable that you find a DUI lawyer here.
What happens if you get a DUI in Michigan?
When charged with DUI violations, there are a number of more specific charges that you could be convicted of, including:
- Operating while visibly impaired.
- Operating while intoxicated, which includes that the alcohol or drugs in your body substantially affected your ability to drive safely, that your BAC was at or above 0.08 or that you had a particularly high BAC at or above 0.17.
- Operating a motor vehicle with any presence of a schedule one drug or cocaine.
- Operating under the age of 21 with any presence of alcohol in the body other than alcohol that is consumed at a generally recognized religious ceremony.
The DUI penalties will not only depend upon your charge, but on whether or not this is your first conviction and if you have a good DUI lawyer present to defend you in court. If you are facing a DWI or DUI charge, then find a DUI lawyer here.
What You Can Expect If Charged With DUI in Michigan
If you are charged with a DUI in Michigan, then you will need to attend a court hearing to decide upon your conviction and consequences. State law requires that your case must be decided within 77 days of your arrest. While all DUI consequences will carry a fine and a minimum of a six-month driver license suspension, those fines could be as high as $5,000 with the maximum driving license suspension being far longer than just six months. Additionally, those charged with DUIs could be facing jail time, community service, probation, potential vehicle forfeiture and more. Not only that, but if driving under the influence results in death or injury, you could face a prison sentence of up to 20 years. Potential DUI penalties are not something to take lightly, and that is why it is so important that you find a DUI lawyer here.
The Importance of Having a Good DUI Attorney in Michigan
Having a good DWI lawyer in Michigan can reduce consequences, especially for first-time offenders. Everyone makes mistakes, but these lawyers specialize in drunk driving information and defenses. Having a good DWI attorney can potentially lessen or eliminate jail time, reduce fines and reduce other penalties, such as drivers license suspension period. That is why you should take precautions when charged with such violations and find a DUI lawyer here.